Leaping bunnies I’ve only gone and done an intro!!!!

Hi,

I am a thirty something woman who loves beauty but doesn’t like the idea of my products being tested on animals.  I am not a preachy type of person it’s just how I feel so there won’t be any pictures on here to try and frighten people into buying cruelty free only.  This is all about letting people know there are options and that you can buy products on the high street as well as online that are cruelty free and also Vegan, Vegetarian, Organic and Eco friendly.

The reason I started this blog is due to being upset and let down by a well know high end cosmetics company who advise only the end product is not tested on animals.  My question was “then it’s not cruelty free!”, and as a result of this I decided to look more closely at the other cosmetics and beauty products I was using.

In my initial search to find products I panicked a bit thinking that it would all be online and I wouldn’t be able to walk into Boots or Superdrug etc and see the product before buying them.  Luckily I was pleasantly surprised and discovered one of my fave brands of 20 yrs, BarryM, is cruelty free and also vegetarian and some even vegan (http://www.barrym.com/info/animal-friendly.asp).  It would be nice though, for them to get the leaping bunny logo to be fully certified!!!  So, there are cruelty free products out there, the problem is getting through the mind field of jargon that so many cosmetics companies use to make us think they’re cruelty free, but that is for my second blog 🙂

At the bottom of this blog I will put a couple of links that will be helpful for anyone looking for cosmetics and other products that are truly cruelty free, the leaping bunny site being the best as this is the recognised symbol that certifies the products cruelty free as per the international Humane Cosmetics Standard (http://www.gocrueltyfree.org/consumer/the-leaping-bunny).

In starting this blog I have found that cruelty free cosmetics have come a long way in the last 20 yrs. When I was a teenager it was pretty much Rimmel only and I’m not 100% sure they were truly cruelty free.  Most cosmetics I’d come across before starting research for this blog were pretty poor with a tendency towards being expensive, foul smelling stuff that rarely really worked or lasted about an hour.  To top it all off the make up was inevitably a nightmare to apply, came in an extremely limited choice of colours (normally browns!!!!!), and you ended up looking pretty horrendous!  Fast forward to the 21st century and it would appear it has come on dramatically and I’m very pleased.  The products are as good as the high street if not better and, with the advent of the tinterweb, more readily accessible and affordable!

I am excited about this adventure I am undertaking, to be able to indulge my love of beauty and cosmetics and to do it completely guilt free is FAB!!!!  I hope that I am able to help others out there who are interested in this area and look forward to hopefully getting ideas, suggestions, feedback etc from the wonderful interweb community!!!!

XXXX

http://www.gocrueltyfree.org/search?product-type=cosmetics&country=231

http://buav.org/_lib/userfiles/files/Guides/BUAVA_LittleBook_OnlineVersion_Feb2011v2.pdf

Leave a Reply

