Luscious Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub

Well, I couldn’t wait for my gorgeous stuff to come through from Aus and the US before trying something new so I took myself off to Lush for something!

I’d read about lip scrubs and thought, what the heck let’s give it a go!! So I had a look online at Lush (yes, it’s my go to shop!), and thought I’d try the Bubblegum scrub as a review said it smelt like the Christmas Snow Fairy line mmmmmmmmmmmm!

Yet again this is reasonably priced at £4.95 even though it is a small jar.  And to top it all off you lick it off! Double mmmmmm.

My first attempt at using this was a little bit of a disaster as I over scrubbed and for too long. My lips felt like they’d been in salt water air too long and were very upset with my overzealous scrubbing 😦 Oh well better luck next time! I also tried to take some photo’s which failed so will have to try harder!

Well, I tried again, a little more gently and for a shorter time and, voila! No soreness or sensitivity and I was able to apply balm afterwords. Absolutely lovely to use and, as with most Lush products a small amount goes a long, long way. I have naturally thin lips and my mouth is quite small so the amount I needed was tiny. I was also a bit more cautious about how much I used after the previous nights escapade! I found, though, that what I use was pretty much all I needed.

The lip scrub itself is sugary and sweet and tasted lovely, it is bubblegum pink and also smells of bubblegum. I have to say it does remind me of the Christmas Snow Fairy range with its look so if you’re in withdrawal this will give you a post crimbo fix. To apply the scrub I slowly massaged it into my lips like I would a lip balm when they’re dry or chapped. I was very gentle and when I felt it had done its job I did as instructed and licked it off yuuuummmmyyyyyy 🙂

The feeling I had after I’d used it was very similar to when I exfoliate, my lips felt clean but also a little tight, this, I put down, to the fact that I have dry skin that needs to be kept well moisturised.  It wasn’t an unpleasant feeling as I’m used to this when deep cleaning but it did mean I had to make sure my lips were well  moisturised afterwards.  I’d probably only use this once a week maybe a fortnight, if you have problem lips you may want to do it more often.  I think this is a trial and error product that you need to experiment with before deciding what works best.

All in all this is a gorgeous product as you would expect but would probably benefit from some more instructions as it was sore overdoing it, especially as I’ve never used one before.  It smells, looks and tastes amazing and I would buy again.  Yet another product from Lush which is very good value for money.

For product information please click here.  This is a Vegan product.

Leave a Reply

