Lush Colour Supplements (Can’t curb that Lush addiction!)

Another post another review of a Lush product :S

This time I’m looking at their Colour Supplements product. This comes in a number of shades to suit most tones of skin, pink, brown, yellow. When I say tones I do not just mean ethnicity I mean the natural tone of all our skins. Mine has real pink tones and this has always meant problems when buying foundation as most seem to have brown/beige tones to them and I always end up looking very slightly orange. I sometimes think this is one of the reasons for so many orange women wandering round!

There are five colours in the collection which span a number of different tones and colours of skin. Each colour seems to be suitable for quite a broad spectrum of each particular skin tone/colour, i would highly recommend testing before buying! I’ve listed the different shades of the supplements below with the Lush description and a link to the specific product:

Dark Pink Colour Supplement “This supplement is designed for darker skin types that are of predominantly pink tones.”

Dark Yellow Colour Supplement “This supplement is designed for dark skin types of predominantly yellow or olive tones.”

Jackie Oates Colour Supplement “This is for fairer folk – like those with a typical English Rose complexion or those with ginger hair.”

Light Pink Colour Supplement “This supplement is designed for paler skin types of predominantly pink tones.”

Light Yellow Colour Supplement “This supplement is designed for paler skin types of predominantly yellow base tones.”

Again I went to the Manchester Arndale store for this and was helped by the lovely Alison. She was able to help me select which colour best suited my skin by using it on the inside of my forearm. I was a little surprised she tested there as the website suggests the jaw line as the best place but I was happy to go with her suggestion of the Light Pink Colour Supplement. Alison also showed me how to mix it with moisturiser and gave me good advice on use and coverage etc. considering this is a £7.95 product I was extremely impressed with the attention and help I got and Alison was more than happy to answer my questions.

I’m not one for foundations as I find they’re too heavy for my skin and annoy me so I’ve been using tinted moisturiser for some years. My most recent brand has been Clinique but, as they do not guarantee none of their products/ingredients are cruelty free I wanted a new one that suited my new strict ethos! The other problem I’ve had with Clinique since using the tinted moisturiser is it gives me a slight orange tanned look to my face and doesn’t blend in that well as a result, and that’s with a consultant testing the colours on me.

The first thing I noticed about this product was that it takes a bit of mixing into moisturiser, particularly if your moisturiser isn’t as thick. This doesn’t annoy though as it’s just something to get used to! I then applied it to my face with my fingers gently massaging into the skin. Once I’d applied this with the moisturiser I did find I needed to apply some more to get really good coverage and depth, I did this by just building it up until I was satisfied. As with most new makeup it’s just a case of practice makes perfect.

I was nervous at first as the Light Pink looked different to my old tinted moisturiser and I didn’t want to look too pale. This, though, was more about the change than anything else as once I’d put the rest of my make up on it looked fine and very natural. It felt very light on my skin and didn’t feel as though it was clogging my pours at all. I wore this for a full day at work in Manchester and when I got home it still felt nice and wasn’t driving me nuts like foundations sometimes do. I found it gave my face a dewy yet matt look and when I asked a friend what she thought she agreed. She also agreed that this colour was a better match for me than my old one.

All in all I love this product and would definitely recommend it. The fact it cost a third of my old tinted moisturiser and I reckon will last as long I am thinking this could be my new go to foundation!! The only disappointment is no SPF and as this is an important factor for me I will need to find a moisturiser that does the job instead.

This product is Vegan xx

5 thoughts on “Lush Colour Supplements (Can’t curb that Lush addiction!)

  1. Very comprehensive review! I got the light pink colour supplement a few weeks ago and it’s brilliant. Plan to review it on my blog very soon so keep your eyes peeled 🙂 Have you heard about their range their releasing on the 21st July? So exciting!! x

Leave a Reply

